KCR TRS riding on a wave, set to form the first government

KCR TRS riding on a wave, set to form the first government

KCR all set to be CM of Telangana

Riding on a wave of Telangana statehood sentiment, Telangana Rashtra Samiti (TRS) stormed ahead in the region and looks set to form the first government in Telangana which officially comes into existence on June 2. The TRS was leading in 65 of the 119 Assembly and 12 of the 17 Parliamentary constituencies.

It is basically TRS chief K Chandrasekhara Rao’s single-handed win. It was KCR who was quick to wrest the initiative as soon as Telangana Bill was passed on February 18 and took credit for leading Telangana agitation to its conclusions, and launched a high-pitched campaign leaving the Congress way behind.

The TRS’ campaign had no other campaigners except KCR who addressed over 300 public meetings, heli-hopping around and often addressing more than 10 meetings in a single day.

The TRS not only retained its north Telangana stronghold but also made inroads in south Telangana, a Congress bastion. TRS chief K Chandrasekhara Rao was leading in Medak Lok Sabha as well as Gajwal Assembly-he is contesting from both seats.

KCR’s son K T Rama Rao was leading in Sircilla in Karimnagar district while his daughter K Kavita was also leading in the Nizamabad Lok Sabha seat against Congress sitting MP Madhu Yakshi Goud.

Telangana Pradesh Congress Committee chief Ponnala Lakshmaih was trailing in Jangaon Assembly seat. Sitting Congress MPs Gaddam Vivekananda (Peddapalle), Ponnam Prabhakar (Karimnagar), S Jaipal Reddy (Mahbunagar-he shifted from Chevella Lok Sabha seat), S Rajaiah (Warangal), TDP MPs Ramesh Rathod (Adilabad), Nama Nageshwara Rao (Khammam) were all trailing.

BJP’s Bandaru Dattatreya was leading in Secunderabad Lok Sabha while MIM’s Asaduddin Owaisi had established a comfortable lead in Hyderabad Lok Sabha seat.

In Seemandhra, a tough fight is on between Telugu Desam Party and YSRCP. The TDP was leading in 90 of the 175 Assembly and 14 of the 25 Lok Sabha seats. The YSRCP was leading in 80 Assembly and 10 Lok Sabha seats.

But with each round the equations are changing. BJP’s K Hari Babu and Y S Vijayalakshmi, mother of Y S Jagan Mohan Reddy, were going neck and neck in the crucial Visakhapatnam Lok Sabha seat. The TDP was ahead in Srikakulam and Vizianagaram in north Coastal Andhra.

Kalvakuntla Chandrashekar Rao

Kalvakuntla Chandrashekar Rao (born 17 February 1954), abbreviated KCR, is the 1st chief Minister2014- of Telengana. He is a Member of Legislative Assembly from the Medak constituency of Telangana and is the president of the Telangana Rashtra Samithi.[1] He was the cabinet minister for Labour and Employment.

Rao was born on 17 February 1954 in Chintamadaka village, Medak District of Andhra Pradesh. He attained a Masters in Telugu Literature.

Congress Party

KCR started his career with the youth Congress party in Medak district, controlled by Sanjay Gandhi in the 1970s. As he himself claims, he and a few others stood by Indira Gandhi even after her defeat in the 1977 Lok Sabha polls.

Telugu Desam Party

KCR joined the TDP in 1983 and contested against A.Madan Mohan and lost that election. Kcr won four consecutive Assembly elections from Siddipet between 1985 and 1999. He also served as the deputy speaker of the Andhra Assembly. Elected as MLA from Gajwel Constituency of Medak Dist of Telangana State on 16-5-2014 with a majority of 19391.And he may be the Chief Ministerial Candidate for recently formed Telangana State in India.

Telangana Rashtra Samithi

Further information: Separate Telangana state movement

On 27 April 2001, Rao resigned as Deputy Speaker and TDP MLA. He claimed that the politicians of the region were being suppressed and believed that separatism is the only solution. In April 2001, he formed the Telangana Rashtra Samithi (TRS) to campaign for his separatist agenda.

In the elections of 2004, Rao won the Siddipet state assembly constituency and also the Karimnagar Lok Sabha constituency, both as a TRS candidate.The TRS fought the 2004 general elections in alliance with the Indian National Congress and Rao was one of the five TRS candidates who were returned as MPs.

TRS was part of the United Progressive Alliance coalition government, led by Congress. The party later withdrew from the coalition, saying that the Alliance was not minded to support a separate Telangana state. In 2004, he fought the Lok Sabha polls and went on to become a Union Cabinet minister of Labour and Employment in the UPA-1 government at the Centre. He resigned in 2006. In 2009, Rao fought and won the Mahbubnagar Lok Sabha by election for the TRS,the party fought the general elections as part of the opposition coalition.

Kalvakuntla Chandrashekhar Rao is married to Shobha and has two children. His son, K. T. Rama Rao, is a legislator; his daughter, Kalvakuntla Kavitha, is an activist. His nephew, Harish Rao, is Member of the Legislative Assembly for the Siddipet constituency.

Thanks for Visiting womenspage.in

Design by Free Interview Questions | Bloggerized by Lasantha - Premium Blogger Themes | Press Release Distribution